Creating classes
On the “Classes” tab in your account, create one class for each class of students you have. On each class's page, you can copy the “Student Invite Link” and send that to your students on your LMS (Google Classroom, Canvas, etc.) on the first day of class.
Students can log in with Google or create accounts with a username or password. Note: Some schools require tech department approval to use Google Login with new websites.
Alternatively, you can create student accounts by entering their email and a password using the “Create student account” button.
The classes screen
Once students join your class, you'll see a list of them. Clicking on a student will allow you to see any work they've completed, change their password, switch them to a different class, or remove them from the class. Also, if you have any co-teachers who you've invited to your class with the "Admin Invite Link" button, you'll see them there as well.
Extra options
Access these via the "Options" button on an individual class's screen.
- "Students can find lessons through Explore tabs": Individual users get access to the "Explore" tab, with some free lessons that we provide as a sample. By default, when students are rostered in your classes, they will no longer be able to see this tab. If you'd like them to access those lessons you can change this option to "Yes".
- "Require students to sign up with Google": When you send students the class invite link and they don't already have an account, they are prompted to create one. When creating an account, they can choose to enter their email and a password, or click Sign up with Google. If you set this option to "Yes", the students will only be able to create an account with Google login.
- "Students can copy paste in lessons": Setting this to "No" will prevent students from pasting in the code editor.
- "Students can share assignment code": Students can share code in order to collaborate with others in a group project. Set this to "No" if you want to manage this manually for students. This is set to "No" by default.